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22 VAC 40-141-20. Legal authority. 

A. The licensed independent foster parent is permitted by law to accept children for care 

who are entrusted to the provider by the parents or legal guardians or whose parents 

have signed a placing agreement authorizing the child’s temporary placement in the 

independent foster home.  A temporary entrustment agreement transfers custody of the 

child from the parents or legal guardians to the independent foster parents.  A placing 

agreement authorizes the child’s placement in the independent foster home while 

allowing the parents or guardians to maintain legal custody. 

B. The local juvenile and domestic relations court must approve the temporary 

entrustment agreement if the child is to remain in the placement for more than 90 days. 

C. Individuals are exempt from licensure if they only provide care to children who are 

born to or adopted by the individual or children of relatives or personal friends. 

D. Subdivision A 4 of § 16.1-278.2 of the Code of Virginia referenced in the definition of 

an independent foster home refers to the placement decisions for children by local 

boards of social services or a public agency designated by the community policy and 

management team.  Subdivision 6 of § 16.1-278.4 of the Code of Virginia refers to the 

court transfer of legal custody from the parent to another individual or agency.  

Subdivision 13 of § 16.1-278.8 of the Code of Virginia refers to the court's disposition of 

delinquent juveniles.  Individuals receiving children under these provisions are not 

subject to licensure under this regulation. 
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E. Section 63.2-1734 of the Code of Virginia establishes the authority of the State Board 

of Social Services to promulgate regulations for the activities, services and facilities to 

be employed by persons and agencies required to be licensed by § 63.2-1701 of the 

Code of Virginia.  Regulations shall be designed to ensure that such activities, services 

and facilities are conducive to the welfare of the children under the custody or control of 

such persons or agencies.  Section 63.2-1712 of the Code of Virginia states that it shall 

be a misdemeanor to operate or engage in the activities of a child welfare agency 

without first obtaining a license. 

22 VAC 40-141-30.  General requirements. 

A. Children placed in independent foster homes by their parents or legal guardian shall 

not remain in care longer than 180 days. 

Exception: A child’s placement in the independent foster home may exceed 180 days 

for reasons of parental illness/recuperation or military deployment if that was the reason 

for the placement and the provider refers the child to the local department of social 

services and makes a request for an assessment of the care and custody of the child to 

determine if additional services or evaluations are necessary. 

B. For a child placed in the independent foster home by a temporary entrustment 

agreement, if it appears that the child cannot be returned to the child’s parent or 

guardian within 90 days of the date of placement, the provider shall petition the local 

juvenile and domestic relations court within 30 days of placement to request an 

assessment of the care and custody of the child. 
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Exception: A child’s placement in the independent foster home may exceed 180 days 

for reasons of parental illness/recuperation or military deployment if that was the reason 

for the placement and the provider refers the child to the local department of social 

services and makes a request for an assessment of the care and custody of the child to 

determine if additional services or evaluations are necessary. 

B.C. Providers shall be at least 21 years of age. 

C.D. Providers shall have either a bachelor's degree in a field related to family services, 

child care and development, social work or education or a high school diploma or a 

G.E.D. and at least one year of experience providing care to children in the age range to 

be placed in the home. 

E. Providers who accept children with special needs shall have experience or training 

directly relevant to the developmental levels and special needs of the children in care. 

D.F. The provider shall be responsible for the home’s day-to-day operation and for 

meeting licensing requirements. 

22 VAC 40-141-80. Medical requirements for provider, assistant and household 

members. 

A. Within 90 days prior to the initial application, the applicant for licensure as an 

independent foster home provider, each assistant and each adult member of the 

household shall undergo an assessment for risk of tuberculosis infection and disease. 
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1. The applicant shall provide documentation from the health department, a physician, 

or a physician’s designee that each individual is "free from tuberculosis in a 

communicable form." 

2. Individuals needing additional testing to determine the absence of tuberculosis in a 

communicable form shall obtain a tuberculin skin test and: 

1.a. The statement shall include the type of test used, the date of the test, and the test 

results. 

2.b. The statement shall be signed and dated by a physician, the physician's designee, 

or an official of a local health department. 

B. If an individual is not able to receive a tuberculin test for health reasons, this shall be 

documented by a physician. 

1. The physician's statement shall also include the date when the test can be safely 

administered. 

2. The individual shall obtain the tuberculin test no later than 30 days after the date 

indicated by the physician. 

C. An individual who had a positive reaction to a tuberculin skin test and whose 

physician certifies the absence of communicable tuberculosis shall obtain chest x-rays 

on an annual basis for the following two years. 

1. The statement shall document the date of the x-rays. And 

2. The statement shall be signed by a licensed physician, the physician's designee, or 

an official of a local health department. 
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D. Any individual who, upon examination or as a result of tests, shows indication of 

communicable tuberculosis or a physical condition that may jeopardize the safety of 

children in care shall be removed from contact with children and, where indicated, from 

food served to children. 

E. Contact may resume when a licensed physician certifies that the risk to children has 

been eliminated or substantially reduced. 

E.F. The provider, any assistants, and any adult household members shall undergo 

subsequent screening or testing, as appropriate, every two years thereafter. 

F.G. Any individual who comes in contact with a known case of tuberculosis or develops 

chronic respiratory symptoms shall, within 30 days of exposure or development, receive 

an evaluation to indicate the absence of tuberculosis in a communicable form. 

22 VAC 40-141-85. Temporary entrustment agreement requirements. 

A. A written temporary entrustment agreement or placing agreement shall be received 

on every child placed directly by the child's parents or guardians in the independent 

foster home.   

B. Prior to entering into a temporary entrustment agreement, the provider shall consider: 

1. the The needs of the child and whether the home can meet those needs, ; 

2. the The needs of any other children residing in the home, ; and 

3. the The impact of the individual child joining the household. 
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B.C. The temporary entrustment agreement shall be for placement of less than 180 

days. 

D. If the provider is aware at the time of admission that the placement will extend 

beyond 90 days, the provider shall petition the local juvenile and domestic relations 

court for approval of the entrustment agreement within 30 days of placement. 

E. If the length of placement is not known at admission, the provider shall petition the 

court for approval as soon as the provider is aware that the placement will be for longer 

than 90 days. 

C.F. Each subsequent entrustment agreement for the same child shall be considered 

placement for longer than 90 days and shall receive approval by the local juvenile and 

domestic relations court. 

D.G. The entrustment agreement shall not extend beyond the child's 18th  birthday. 

E.H. The parents or guardians may request the return of a child at any time prior to the 

90th day of placement without the court's approval. 

I. The entrustment agreement shall be considered revoked upon the parents' or 

guardians' request. 

F.J. If the provider opposes the request for the child to return home or to a prior 

custodian, the provider shall immediately file the appropriate petition with the local 

juvenile and domestic relations court. 

G.K. When petitioning the local juvenile and domestic relations court for approval of an 

entrustment agreement, § 16.1-277.01 of the Code of Virginia requires that the licensed 
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independent foster home, as a child welfare agency, file a foster care plan with the 

court. 

L. The foster care plan shall meet the requirements established in § 16.1-281 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

22 VAC 40-141-87. Placing agreement requirements. 

A. A written placing agreement or temporary entrustment agreement shall be received 

on every child placed directly by the child’s parents or guardians in the independent 

foster home. 

B. Prior to entering into a placing agreement, the provider shall consider: the 

1. The needs of the child and whether the home can meet those needs, : 

2. the The needs of any other children residing in the home, ; and 

3. the The impact of the individual child joining the household. 

B.C. A placing agreement shall: 

1. Allow the child’s parents or guardians to retain legal custody of the child during the 

placement in the independent foster home; 

2. Be for a placement of less than 180 days.  If the provider, at any time, becomes 

aware that the placement will exceed 179 days, the provider shall contact the local 

department of social services and request an assessment of the child and an evaluation 

of services needed and to determine if a petition to assess the care and custody of the 

child should be filed in the local juvenile and domestic relations court; 
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3. Include identifying information, including: proof 

a. Proof of identity of the child,; the  

b. The child’s name,; date 

c. Date of birth,; sex 

d. Sex; and date 

e. Date of placement; 

4. Address the acquisition of and consent for medical treatments needed by the child 

and include Medicaid or other insurance information; 

5. Address the rights and responsibilities of each party involved; 

6. Address the responsibilities of the child’s parents or legal guardians for financial 

support; and  

7. Be signed by the child’s parent or legal guardian and the foster parent no later than 

the child’s placement in the independent foster home. 

C.D. A placing agreement shall not extend beyond the child’s 18th birthday. 

D.E. The parents or guardians may request the return of a child at any time prior to the 

180th day of a placing agreement. 

F. The placing agreement shall be considered revoked upon the parents’ or guardians’ 

request. 

E.G. Each subsequent placing agreement for the same child shall be considered an 

extension of the placement and whenever the child has been in the independent foster 
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home for a total of 180 days the provider shall contact the local department of social 

services and request an assessment of the child and an evaluation of services needed 

and to determine if a petition to assess the care and custody of the child should be filed 

in the local juvenile and domestic relations court. 

22 VAC 40-141-90. Supervision of children in care. 

A. The provider is responsible at all times for the safety and supervision of children 

placed in the home. 

B. A responsible adult shall always be available to substitute in case of an emergency 

and.  

C. There shall be documentation of the name, address, telephone number of this adult, 

along with a signed statement of agreement to serve as a substitute, shall be 

documented. 

C.D. Children shall be supervised in a manner which ensures that the caregiver is 

aware of what the children are doing at all times and can promptly assist or redirect 

activities when necessary. 

D.E. In deciding how closely to supervise children, providers shall consider: 

1. The ages of the children; 

2. Individual differences and abilities of the children; 

3. The layout of the house and play area, including neighborhood circumstances or 

hazards; and 
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4. Risk activities children are engaged in. 

E.F. Children under the age of six and children with special needs shall be within sight 

or sound supervision at all times. 

F.G. Providers shall not bathe with a child unless recommended by a physician. 

G.H. Providers shall ensure the safety of children at all times during diapering. 

22 VAC 40-141-110. Essentials for each child. 

A. The diet for children shall be well-balanced and appropriate to the daily nutritional 

needs of each child. 

B. Special diets shall be provided as prescribed by a physician or dentist for individual 

children and established religious dietary practices for each child shall be observed. 

B.C. Clothing, towels, wash cloths, toothbrushes, combs and hair brushes, and other 

personal needs shall be provided for each child on an individual basis and shall be kept 

clean and replaced as needed. 

D. Clothing shall be kept clean, in good repair, and appropriate for the age and size of 

each child. 

C.E. Drinking water shall be available at all times unless prohibited by a physician’s 

order. 

D.F. Normal activities of daily living such as meals appropriate to the child’s nutritional 

needs, time for sleep and rest appropriate to the child’s age, bathing, etc., shall be 

opportunities for teaching and guiding behavior. 
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G. To the extent that normal activities of daily living are used to teach and guide 

behavior, the provider’s actions shall not be extreme, unusual or abusive. 

22 VAC 40-141-120. Transportation of children. 

A. The provider shall have transportation available at all times in case of an emergency. 

B. Any individual who transports children shall have a valid driver's license and vehicle 

liability insurance. 

B. C. Providers and any individuals who transport children shall assure that all 

passengers use safety belts and child restraint devices in accordance with Virginia law. 

C. D. The provider and assistant transporting children shall not have driving violations 

on file with the Department of Motor Vehicles related to driving under the influence of 

alcohol or drugs, reckless driving, or any offense which places other occupants of the 

vehicle at risk within the five years prior to the application, and thereafter as a condition 

of continued licensure. 

E. A copy of the provider's and the assistant's driving record shall be provided to the 

licensing representative upon application and at the time of submitting a renewal 

application. 

F. Driving violations as described in this section shall be reported to the licensing 

representative within 24 hours. 

D.G. The provider shall not knowingly allow children to be transported by any person 

who has driving violations on file with the Department of Motor Vehicles related to 
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driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, reckless driving, or any other offense 

that places other occupants of the vehicle at risk within the previous five years. 

Exception:  The parents or legal guardians of a child shall not be prohibited from 

transporting their child as a result of this requirement unless it poses an immediate 

danger to the health and safety of that child. 

22 VAC 40-141-130. Medical care of children. 

A. The provider shall have the name, address and telephone number of each child's 

physician easily accessible. 

B. The provider shall have first aid supplies easily accessible to adults in the home, but 

not accessible to children under the age of 13. 

C. First aid supplies shall include: scissors, tweezers, sterile nonstick gauze pads, 

adhesive bandages in assorted sizes, a sealed package of alcohol wipes or antiseptic 

cleansers, a thermometer, a chemical cold pack if an ice pack is not available, first aid 

instruction manual or cards, an insect bite or sting preparation, one triangular bandage, 

current activated charcoal and syrup of ipecac to be used only when instructed by the 

regional poison control center or child's physician, flexible roller or stretch gauze, 

disposable nonporous gloves, and an eye dressing or pad. 

1. Scissors; 

2. Tweezers; 

3. Sterile nonstick gauze pads; 

4. Adhesive bandages in assorted sizes; 
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5. A sealed package of alcohol wipes or antiseptic cleansers; 

6. A thermometer; 

7. A chemical cold pack if an ice pack is not available; 

8. First aid instruction manual or cards; 

9. An insect bite or sting preparation; 

10. One triangular bandage; 

11. Current activated charcoal and syrup of ipecac to be used only when instructed by 

the regional poison control center of child's physician; 

12. Flexible roller or stretch gauze; 

13. Disposable nonporous gloves; and 

14. An eye dressing or pad. 

D. The provider shall receive medical history information, including: 

1. immunizations Immunizations received, ; and 

2. Documentation, at the time of placement, E. At the time of placement, the provider 

shall receive documentation of a physical examination of the child completed within 90 

days before placement, or the child shall receive a physical examination within 30 days 

after placement.  The current form required by the Virginia Department of Health or any 

other form which provides the same information to report immunizations received and 

the results of the physical examination shall be used. 
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Exception:  If a child's parent objects to the child receiving immunizations or a physical 

examination on religious grounds, the parent must submit a signed statement noting the 

objection on religious grounds and certifying to the best of the parent's knowledge, the 

status of the child's health. 

FE. The provider shall ensure that the child receives necessary medical care and follow-

up. 

G.F. The provider shall give prescription drugs to children in care only: 

1. Only in accordance with an order signed by a licensed physician or authentic 

prescription label; and shall 

2. Shall keep all prescription and nonprescription medications inaccessible to children 

under the age of 13 and stored as instructed by the physician or pharmacist. 

1.a. The provider shall keep in the child's record daily documentation of all prescription 

and nonprescription medication administered to a child in care. 

Exception: Providers are not required to record the amount of diaper ointment or 

sunscreen applied. 

2.b. Out-of-date and unused medications shall be properly discarded or returned to the 

child's parent or guardian. 

H.G. The provider may permit self-administration of medication by a child in care if: 

1. The child is physically and mentally capable of properly taking medication without 

assistance. 
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2. The provider maintains a written statement from the parent or a physician 

documenting the child’s capacity to take medication without assistance. 

3. The provider assures that the child’s medications and any other medical supplies are 

not accessible to children under the age of 13. 

I.H. The provider shall report all major illnesses, injuries, accidents, missing children, 

the death of a child, and any placement of a child outside of the foster home within 24 

hours to: the child's parent and 

1. The licensing representative within 24 hours and to the child's parent. 

2. If the provider is not able to contact the parent or guardian, attempted contacts shall 

be documented. 

J.I. The provider shall receive written authorization for routine and emergency medical 

and dental care for each child. 

22 VAC 40-141-140.  Disease prevention. 

A. Children’s hands shall be washed with soap and water before eating meals and 

snacks, after toileting, and after any contact with body fluids. 

B. The provider and assistant shall wash their hands with soap or a germicidal 

cleansing agent after: diapering a child, helping a child with toileting, personal toileting, 

any contact with body fluids, and before handling food, feeding or helping a child with 

feeding. 
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1. Diapering a child; 

2. Helping a child with toileting, personal toileting, any contact with body fluids; and 

3. Before handling food, feeding or helping a child with feeding. 

C. When a child’s clothing or diaper becomes wet or soiled, it shall be changed 

immediately. 

D. When a child’s diaper is changed, the soiled area shall be thoroughly cleaned with a 

disposable wipe. 

D. The provider shall keep surfaces for preparing and eating food sanitary. 

E. Surfaces used for changing diapers shall be used for that purpose alone. 

F. Diapering surfaces shall be washed with soap and water or a germicidal agent after 

each use. 

G. The provider shall keep surfaces for preparing and eating food sanitary. 

22 VAC 40-141-150.  Discipline of children.  

A. Discipline shall be constructive in nature and emphasize positive approaches to 

managing the child's behavior.   

1. The provider shall establish rules and expectations that encourage and teach desired 

behaviors and discourage undesired behavior. 

2. The provider shall explain the house rules and expectations and the behavior 

management approach to each child who is old enough to understand. 
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B. There shall be no physical punishment, rough play or severe disciplinary action 

administered to the body such as, but not limited to, spanking, striking or hitting with a 

part of the body or an implement, pinching, pulling or roughly handling a child, shaking a 

child, forcing a child to assume an uncomfortable position (e.g., standing on one foot, 

keeping arms raised above or horizontal to the body), restraining to restrict movement 

through binding or tying, enclosing in a confined space, or using exercise as 

punishment. 

C. Physical restraint shall not be used on children in care.  "Physical restraint" means 

restraining a child’s body movements by means of "physical crisis intervention 

techniques" or a therapeutic intervention utilizing adult physical contact only, as a short-

term, emergency means of managing out-of-control behavior.  It is not intended to mean 

everyday, commonly-accepted parenting practices and interventions such as holding a 

child to prevent falling or crossing into the path of a moving vehicle, or holding a child’s 

hand to prevent placing it on a hot stove, etc. 

D. The provider shall not: make  

1. Make threats; make  

2. Make belittling remarks about any child, the child's family, the child's race, religion, or 

cultural background; use  

3. Use profanity; or make  

4. Make other statements that are frightening or humiliating to the child. 
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E. When separation or time-out is used as a discipline technique, it shall be brief and 

appropriate to the child's developmental level and circumstances. 

F. The child who is separated from others shall be: in  

1. In a safe, lighted, and well-ventilated place; shall not 

2. Not be confined or locked in a room or compartment; and shall be within 

3. Within hearing and vision of the provider or assistant at all times if under the age of 

13 or diagnosed with special needs. 

G. Children age 13 and older shall be within hearing or vision of the provider or 

assistant at all times when separated from others for disciplinary reasons. 

H. Children under the age of 13 or those with special needs shall not be placed in time-

out for periods of time exceeding one minute for each year of age. 

I. Time-out shall not be used for children under two years of age. 

F.J. The provider shall not subject children to cruel, severe, humiliating, or unusual 

actions. 

G.K. The provider shall not delegate discipline or permit punishment of a child by 

another child or by an adult not known to the child. 

H.L. The provider shall not deny a child contact or visits with his family as a method of 

discipline. 



STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES      Page 19 of 32   

LICENSING STANDARDS FOR INDEPENDENT FOSTER HOMES 

 
22 VAC 40-141-160. Activities for children. 

A. The provider shall provide daily indoor and outdoor recreational and other activities 

appropriate to the needs, interests, and abilities, of the children in care. 

B. Each child shall also be permitted to have individual free time as appropriate to the 

child’s age and ability. 

22 VAC 40-141-170.  Abuse and neglect reporting responsibilities of providers. 

A. The provider shall immediately report any suspected abuse and neglect of any child 

in care to child protective services and to the licensing representative. 

B. The provider shall comply with § 63.2-1509 of the Code of Virginia. 

22 VAC 40-141-180. Services to children. 

A. The provider shall arrange for necessary services, as specified in the foster care 

service plan or individual service plan, and as recommended by a licensed physician or 

other professional working with the child, where applicable.  These services may 

include, but are not limited to: 

1. Professional evaluations and counseling; 

2. Educational services and tutoring; and 

3. Transportation to necessary appointments and services. 

Note: Individually planned interventions intended to reduce or ameliorate any diagnosed 

physical, mental or emotional disabilities should be performed by, in conjunction with, or 

under the written direction of a licensed practitioner. 
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B. The provider shall enroll each school-age child in school within five days after 

placement when school is in session. 

C. The provider shall promote the child's education by: giving 

1. Giving the child educational guidance and counseling in the child's selection of 

courses, establishing ; 

2. Establishing contact with the child's school,; and working 

3. Working with the child's school to promote academic achievement and to resolve any 

problems brought to the provider's attention by the school. 

D. In accordance with § 16.1-281 of the Code of Virginia, the independent foster home, 

as a licensed child-welfare agency, shall prepare and submit to the local juvenile and 

domestic relations court a foster care service plan on every child entrusted to the 

provider by an entrustment agreement (i) within 30 days of signing the child's 

entrustment agreement for placements of 90 days or more or (ii) within 60 days of 

signing the entrustment agreement for placements for less than 90 days, unless the 

child is returned to the child's parents or guardians within 60 days of placement in the 

independent foster home. 

E. The foster care service plan shall include: 

1. The reasons the child is placed with the independent foster home; 

2. A summary of the child's situation at the time of placement in relation to the child's 

family.  The summary shall include information about: the  

a. The child's health; and educational 
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b. The child's educational status; 

3. The permanency planning goal recommended for the child, including the projected 

length of stay in the home; 

4. A description of the needs of the child and the child's family; 

5. The programs, care, services, and other support that the independent foster home 

will offer or arrange for the child and the child's parents or guardians to meet those 

needs; 

6. The target dates for completion of the services provided or arranged for the child and 

the child's family; 

7. The participation, conduct, and financial support that will be sought from and the 

responsibilities of the child's parents or guardians; 

8. The visitation or other contacts to be held between the child and the child's parents or 

guardians; 

9. In writing and where appropriate for children age 16 and older, the programs and 

services which will help the child prepare for the transition from foster care to 

independent living; and 

10. A copy of the independent foster home license. 

E.F. For every child placed in the independent foster home by a placing agreement, the 

provider, with the assistance of the parents or legal guardians, shall prepare an 

individualized service plan at the time of admission.  The written individualized service 

plan shall outline the services needed and those that will be provided to the child and 
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his family and identify the goals and objectives designed to reunite the child with his 

family. 

G. Copies of the child’s individualized service plan shall be provided to the parents or 

legal guardians, to the child, if age 13 or older or upon the child’s request, and a copy 

filed in the child’s record. 

H. The written individualized service plan shall: 

1. Outline the services needed and those that will be provided to the child and his 

family; and 

2. Identify the goals and objectives designed to reunite the child with his family. 

I. The individualized service plan shall describe: 

1. The reasons why the child is placed in the independent foster home; 

2. A summary of the child’s situation at the time of placement in relation to the child’s 

family, including a statement of the child’s health and educational status; 

3. A description of the child’s needs; 

4. The goals for the child, including the projected length of placement in the 

independent foster home; 

5. The programs, care, services and other means of support that the independent foster 

home will offer or the arrangements for the child and the child’s parent or guardian to 

provide services or supports; 

6. Projected dates for completion of services provided or arranged for the child; 
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7. Projected level of involvement of the child’s parents or guardians and visitation 

arrangements; 

8. Where appropriate for children age 16 and older, the programs and services that will 

help the child prepare for independent living; 

F.J. The individualized service plan shall be updated at least every 30 days. 

G.K. In accordance with federal and state law, the provider shall ensure that the child's 

health and safety are the paramount concern throughout the placement, case planning, 

service provision and review process. 

H.L. If consistent with the child's health and safety, the foster care plan or individualized 

service plan shall be designed to support reasonable efforts which lead to the return of 

the child to his parents or guardians within the shortest feasible time, which shall be 

specified in the plan. 

I.M. If the provider determines that it is not reasonably likely that the child can be 

returned to the child's prior family within a feasible time, consistent with the best 

interests of the child, and in a separate section of the foster care plan or individualized 

service plan, the provider shall: 

1. Describe the reasons for this conclusion; and 

2. Determine and describe the opportunities for the court to consider placing the child 

with a relative or for the court to refer the child and the child's family to the local 

department of social services for further services and permanency planning. 
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J.N. The provider shall submit the child's foster care plan or individualized service plan 

at the time of petitioning the local juvenile and domestic relations court for approval of 

the entrustment agreement or to assess the care and custody of the child, whichever is 

appropriate. 

K.O. The provider shall participate in all court hearings involving the child, as long as 

the child is placed in the independent foster home. 

L.P. The provider shall include: the 

1. The child whenever possible and appropriate to the child's age and development,; the 

2. The parents or prior guardians of the child,; and professionals 

3. Professionals involved with the child in the development of the foster care service 

plan or individualized service plan. 

M.Q. The provider shall follow the requirements of § 16.1-282 related to the review of 

the foster care service plan and shall petition the local juvenile and domestic relations 

court within five months of the court's approval of the entrustment agreement or within 

five months of the dispositional hearing at which the initial foster care plan was 

reviewed. 

22 VAC 40-141-190.  Physical accommodations in the independent foster home. 

A. The home shall be clean and have sufficient space and furnishings for each child 

receiving care in the home to include: 

1. Space to meet the needs of the foster family in addition to that required for the foster 

children, including; bedrooms  
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2. Bedrooms which are not used as passageways and which have doors for privacy; 

2.3. Space for each child to keep clothing and other personal belongings; 

3.4. Indoor bathing and toilet facilities in good working order with a door for privacy. 

5. At least one toilet, basin, and tub or shower shall be available for every eight persons; 

4.6. A separate, comfortable bed for each child and sufficient bedding to ensure 

cleanliness and comfort.  A crib that meets current Consumer Product Safety 

Commission standards (16 CFR Parts 1508 and 1509) shall be provided for infants and 

children not developmentally ready to sleep in a bed. 

Exception:  Two siblings of the same sex may occupy a double bed; and 

5.7. Sleeping space on the first floor for children unable to use stairs unassisted, except 

children who can easily be carried. 

B. All rooms used by children shall be heated to at least 68º F in winter, dry and well-

ventilated. 

C. A child-safe, mechanical cooling device, e.g., an electric fan or air conditioner, shall 

be used when the temperature inside the room exceeds 80º F. 

C.D. All doors and windows used for ventilation shall be screened. 

D.E. Rooms used by children shall be well-lighted for activities and the comfort of 

children. 

E.F. The home shall have a working telephone available to all household members for 

use in case of emergency. 
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G. The telephone number shall be provided to: the 

1. The licensing representative,; to parents 

2. Parents and legal guardians of children placed in the home,; and to children 

3. Children when they are away from the home. 

F.H. No more than four children shall occupy one bedroom. 

1. Children of the opposite sex over the age of two shall not share a bedroom. 

2. Children shall not share a bed or bedroom with the provider or other adult. 

G.I. There shall be at least three feet between each bed and sufficient space for each 

child to move about safely. 

H.J. There shall be provision for isolation of sick children. 

I.K. If the licensing representative observes conditions that indicate the need for an 

inspection by the local health department and makes this request of the provider, the 

provider shall comply and provide a copy of the report to the department. 

J.L. The provider shall ensure that a smoke-free environment is provided in rooms 

accessible to children while children are in care. 

22 VAC 40-141-200. Home safety. 

A. The provider shall have a plan for seeking assistance from police, firefighters, poison 

control, and medical professionals in an emergency. 

B. The telephone numbers for each shall be posted next to each telephone. 

B.C. The home and grounds shall be: in 
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1. In good physical repair; and free  

2. Free of litter, debris, peeling or chipped paint, hazardous materials, and infestations 

of rodents and insects; and shall  

3. Shall present no hazard to the health and safety of the children receiving care. 

C.D. The provider shall: have  

1. Have a written, posted emergency evacuation plan; and rehearse 

2. Rehearse the plan at least monthly. 

E. Within the first 48 hours of a child's placement in the home, the provider shall review 

the plan with each child who is old enough to understand. 

D.F. If the provider possesses firearms, ammunition, and other weapons, the provider 

shall keep the firearms unloaded and locked as well as the ammunition and other 

weapons locked. 

G. Ammunition shall be locked in a separate location. 

E.H. The provider shall keep cleaning supplies and other toxic substances: stored 

1. Stored away from food,; and locked 

2. Locked or out of the reach of children under the age of 13. 

F.I. When infants or children who are not developmentally ready to climb or descend 

stairs are in the home, the provider shall have protective barriers installed securely at 

each opening to stairways. 
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G.J. Swimming and wading pools shall be set up according to the manufacturer's 

instructions. 

K. Outdoor swimming pools shall be enclosed by safety fences and gates with child-

resistant locks. 

L. Wading pools shall be: emptied, 

1. Emptied and stored away when not in use; and filled 

2. Filled with clean water before the next use. 

H.M. Radiators, oil and wood burning stoves, floor furnaces, portable electric space 

heaters, fireplaces, and similar heating devices used in areas accessible to children 

under the age of 13 shall have protective barriers or screens. 

I.N. All interior and exterior stairways with over three risers shall have hand rails at a 

height accessible to the children in the home. 

J.O. Independent foster homes that provide care to preschool-age children or to 

developmentally delayed children of comparable maturity to a preschool child shall have 

protective, child-resistant covers over all electrical outlets. 

P. The covers shall not be of a size to present a swallowing or choking hazard. 

K.Q. The provider shall comply with the requirements for state regulated care facilities 

relating to smoke detectors and fire extinguishers. 

L.R. Infants shall be placed to sleep on a firm, tight-fitting mattress in a crib that meets 

current safety standards. 



STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES      Page 29 of 32   

LICENSING STANDARDS FOR INDEPENDENT FOSTER HOMES 

 
S. To reduce the risk of suffocation, soft bedding of any kind shall not be used under or 

on top of the infant including, but not limited to, pillows, quilts, comforters, sheepskins, 

or stuffed toys. 

M.T. Infants shall be placed on their backs when sleeping or napping unless otherwise 

directed by the child’s physician. 

U. If an individual child’s physician contraindicates placing the child in this position, the 

provider shall maintain a written statement, signed by the physician, in the child’s 

record. 

N.V. Bunk beds or double decker beds shall have safety rails or mechanisms in place to 

reduce the risk of falls. 

1. Children under age 10 shall not use the upper levels of a double decker or bunk bed. 

2. Children of any age who have motor or developmental delays shall not use the upper 

bunk. 

O.W. Pets shall be immunized for rabies and shall be treated for fleas, ticks, worms or 

other diseases as needed. 

P.X. Providers shall instruct children on safe and hygienic procedures to follow when 

handling, feeding or in close proximity to animals.  

22 VAC 40-141-210.  Record requirements. 

A. The provider shall maintain a separate record with written information on each child 

in care. 
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B. Records shall be kept for at least one year from the date of discharge. 

C. Information in the child's record shall include: 

1. The entrustment agreement or placing agreement between the provider and parent. 

2. The agreement shall be signed on or before the date the child is placed in the home 

and shall include: 

a. Identifying information, including proof of identity, on the child, including: the name, 

date of birth, sex, and date of placement; 

(1) Name; 

(2) Date of birth; 

(3) Sex; and 

(4) Date of placement; 

b. The fees for foster care and other expenses and payment arrangements, including 

financial support from the parents or guardians; 

c. The child's: social  

(1) Social security number,;  

(2) Medicaid or other insurance carrier and number,; and other 

(3) Other information necessary to secure services for the child, including permission to 

receive medical and dental care; 

d. Arrangements for visits by parents and other family members; 
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e. Rights and obligations of the child, the parents or guardians, and the independent 

foster home; and 

f. Signatures of the parent or guardian and the independent foster parent. 

g. A copy of the agreement shall be given to the parent or guardian; 

2.3. Name, address and telephone numbers of parents and public or private agencies 

involved with the child, including the name of the assigned agency worker where 

appropriate; 

3.4. The reason the child is placed in the independent foster home; 

4.5. Name and telephone number of persons to be called in an emergency when the 

responsible person cannot be reached; 

5.6. Names of persons who are authorized to call or visit the child; 

6.7. Medical information pertinent to the health care of the child, including a list of all 

prescription and nonprescription medication the child receives; 

7.8. Copies of the foster care or individualized service plans; 

8.9. Correspondence and other documentation related to the child, including school 

records; 

9.10. Reports of accidents, major injuries, illnesses and serious incidents, such as 

runaways, destruction of property, assaults on others and suicide threats or attempts; 



STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES      Page 32 of 32   

LICENSING STANDARDS FOR INDEPENDENT FOSTER HOMES 

 
10.11. The copy of the petition filed with the juvenile and domestic relations court if the 

child cannot return home within the time frames designated by the entrustment or 

placing agreement and copies; 

12. Copies of all related documents received from the court; 

11.13. Services provided each week to the child by the provider and by other resources 

and services provided to the parent or guardian by the provider, if applicable, or by 

other resources, when known; and 

12.14. Reasons the child was discharged and the date of discharge from the home. 

B.D. Within 30 days after discharge, the provider shall prepare a brief summary of the 

child's behavioral, educational, and medical progress while in the home, and a 

statement as to whether the goals of placement were accomplished.   

E. A copy of this report shall be: given  

1. Given to the parents or legal guardians within 45 days of discharge; and sent  

2. Sent to the local juvenile and domestic relations court whenever the court has 

approved the entrustment agreement and the foster care service plan or a petition has 

been made to the court. 

I certify that this regulation is full, true and correctly dated. 

 

  ____________________________ 
  Julie Christopher, Chairman 
  State Board of Social Service 
  December 14, 2005 


